Connect with us


Boohle, Mr JazziQ and Others Win Awards At The South African Amapiano Awards




The South African Amapiano Awards took place on the 23rd of October, just over the weekend, and Amapiano megastars were rewarded for their hard work so far.

It was a great time to celebrate the success of hitmakers, who have given a huge part of their time to promoting the industry.

The late Mpura was also among the list of winners, especially for his contribution to the collaboration which also involved Reece Madlisa, Busta 929, and Lady Du, with the grand prize of  R50,000 as the Song of the Year.

The awards had over 10 categories, including one for the ‘Friends of Amapiano’ in which Riky Rick came out tops in the same category with Cassper Nyovest, and Oskido.

The event took place in Sandton Convention Centre and going home with the most awards was Boohle who got two awards in two separate categories.

Peek the list of winners below.

Best Amapiano Music Video

  • Nkulunkulu’ – Kamo Mphela
  • Ke Star’ – Focalistic
  • Emathandweni’ – DJ Zandimaz
  • Dinaledi’ – Major League DJz, Abidoza, Mpho Sebina – Winner
  • Woza’ – Sha Sha

Best Amapiano Newcomer

  • DJ Obza
  • Amaroto
  • Soulful G
  • Boohle – Winner
  • Nobantu

Friends of Amapiano

  • Cassper Nyovest
  • Vetkuk vs Mahoota
  • Riky Rick – Winner
  • Oskido
  • Mi Casa

Most Viral Amapiano Song of the Year

  • John Vuligate’ – Mapara A Jazz, Ntosh Gazi and Colano
  • Catalia’ – Junior De Rocka, Lady Du, Mr JazziQ, Mellow and Sleazy
  • Khuza Gogo’ – DBN Gogo, Blaqnick, MasterBlaq, Mpura, Ama Avenger and MJ – Winner
  • Vula Mlomo’ – Musa Keys, Sir Trill and Nobantu Vilakaz
  • Dakiwe’ – Lady Du, DBN Gogo, Mr JazziQ, Seekay and Busta 929

Best Amapiano Dance Act

  • Kamo Mphela – Winner
  • Pabi Cooper
  • Bontle Smith
  • Uncle Vinny
  • Lungy Gwala

Best Amapiano Lyricist/Rapper

  • Reece Madlisa & Zuma
  • Lady Du
  • Focalistic
  • Miano
  • Mpura – Winner

Best Amapinao Vocalist

  • Boohle – Winner
  • Samthing Soweto
  • Soulful G
  • Sha Sha
  • Lady Du

Best Amapiano Collaboration

  • Reece Madlisa and Zuma ft. Mr Jazziq & Busta 929 – ‘Zlele’
  • Mr Jazziq, Kabza De Small and Lady Du ft. Boohle – ‘Woza’
  • Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa ft. Aymos, Samthing Soweto, Myztro & Mas Musiq – ‘Emcimbini’
  • Semi Tee & Mdu Aka Trp ft. Sir Trill – ‘Isingisi’
  • Killer Kau & Mr Jazziq ft. Reece Madlisa, Zuma and DJ Thackzin – ‘Amaneighbour’ – Winner

Best Amapiano Music Producer

  • De Mthuda
  • Busta 929
  • Josiah De Disciple
  • Kabza De Small – Winner
  • Abidoza

Amapiano Song of the Year

  • ‘Ke Star’ – Focalistic ft. Vigro Deep
  • ‘Umsebenzi Wethu’ – Busta 929 & Mpura ft. Zuma, Mr JazziQ, Lady Du & Reece Madlisa – Winner
  • ‘Khuza Gogo’ – DBN Gogo, Blaqnick & MasterBlaq ft. Mpura, Ama Avenger & MJ
  • ‘Amanikiniki’ – MFR Souls ft. Major League DJz, Kamo Mphela & Bontle Smith
  • ‘Uthando’ – Soa Mattrix & Soulful G ft. Shaun 101
  • ‘Emathandweni’ – Zandimaz ft. Nokwazi
  • ‘Idlozi Lam’ – DJ Obza ft. Nkosazana & DJ Freetz
  • ‘John Wick’ – De Mthuda ft. Sir Trill & Da Muziqal Chef
  • ‘Vula Mlomo’ – Musa Keys ft. Sir Trill & Nobantu Vilakazi
  • ‘Dinaledi’ – Major League DJz ft. Abidoza & Mpho Sebina

Best Amapiano Street Dancer

  • Hope Ramafalo
  • Lungy Gwala
  • Dipolelo Dipsie
  • Jessica Mashaba
  • Theebuhle (Lundi Buhle Gugwana)

Best Amapiano Live Vocal Performance

  • Samthing Soweto
  • Daliwonga
  • Sha Sha
  • Sir Trill
  • Boohle
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.