Tony Allen x Hugh Masekela – Rejoice Album

To stir up legendary sounds from the stables of Tony Allen and the late is the release of this creative project “Rejoice ”.

Before the death of the legend Hugh, work was in progress in the alongside the Afrobeat frontline, with most of the recording done in London, creatively guided by producer Nick Gold.

According to the Paris based musician of Nigerian descent, the is a “kind of South African-Nigerian swing-jazz stew.”

Before his passing, we were privileged to witness Hugh on scorching numbers like “Tapera” featuring fellow legend, Oliver Mtukudzi, and “Heaven In You” featuring J Something, to mention a few.

We have enjoyed the celebration of his heritage in numbers like Zakes Bantwini’s “Hugh Masekela Tribute Mix“, and “ KwaGuqa” by the scorpion kings, Kabza and Phori.

The rich album contains 8 tracks including;

  1. Robbers, Thugs, and Muggers (O’Galajani)
  2. Agbada Bougou
  3. Coconut Jam
  4. Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be the Same)
  5. Slow Bones
  6. Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony)
  7. Obama Shuffle Strut Blues
  8. We’ve Landed

Listen, and download. Share your thoughts and opinions in the comment section below.

Back to top button