Connect with us

Entertainment News

Wizkid, Yemi Alade, Burna Boy, Tiwa Savage make the Cut in Beyoncé’s “Lion King” Album



Beyoncé has just written a love letter to Africa, and it is being discussed in excited tones across the continent. This isn’t your traditional letter as you know it. Beyoncé‘s love letter is the album “Lion King,” which encapsulates some of the finest voices in Africa.

Shatta Wale, Yemi Alade, Burna Boy,  Tiwa Savage, Salatiel, Moonchild Sanelly, Wizkid and others found feature spots in the album, a 14-tracker.


01 Beyoncé: “Bigger”
02 Beyoncé: “Find Your Way Back (Circle of Life)”
03 Tekno / Yemi Alade / Mr. Eazi: “Don’t Jealous Me”
04 Burna Boy: “Ja Ara E”
05 Beyoncé / Kendrick Lamar: “The Nile”
06 Beyoncé / JAY-Z / Childish Gambino: “Mood 4 Eva”
07 Salatiel / Pharrell / Beyoncé: “Water”
08 Blue Ivy Carter / SAINt JHN / Wizkid / Beyoncé: “Brown Skin Girl”
09 Tiwa Savage / Mr. Eazi: “Keys to the Kingdom”
10 Beyoncé: “Otherside”
11 Beyoncé / Shatta Wale: “Already”
12 Tierra Whack / Beyoncé / Busiswa / Yemi Alade / Moonchild Sanelly: “My Power”
13 070 Shake / Jessie Reyez: “Scar”
14 Beyoncé: “Spirit

As can be seen from the tracklist, the album – which I take the liberty to call Beyoncé‘s “African album” – is home to some of the finest voices in African music, from Cameroon to Nigeria to South Africa, to Ghana.

The appearance of Wizkid on the album may further add to his prestige as the “hottest pop star in Africa,” a verdict delivered by vogue magazine in 2018. He is yet to make an official release this year, but then he remains one of the hottest music talents in the country.

And he isn’t just winning on the music field either. He is also a winner in business. In fact he recently announced closing one of the biggest deals in Africa.

Tiwa Savage recently left Mavin records for Universal Music Group. She retains a resonant voice in Nigerian music, however. In fact she was tapped by Zlatan for “Shotan” earlier this month.

On his part, Burna Boy recently gave notice his album “African Giant” will be out July 26.

What do you think of this album with its generous cast of African features? Drop your thoughts in the comment section below.

Popular On Hitvibes